Reviews Print this page

  • See what our guests are saying about us...

    February 28, 2012

    Customer Reviews:

    *****


    • Denny

      Exceptional!!!!
      Feb 17, 2013
      Do yourself and your family a grand service, and experience this superb cusiune and incomparable atmosphere. Claudio, Angela, Roberto, Anthony and the entire staff was more than welcoming, they made us feel like family and I can't say that I've ever spent a more enjoyable evening. The food was exquisite and these folks more than made us feel like we were old friends and have been there a hundred times before. Can't wait to get back to visit the BUON CIBO GRILLE.

       
      Ali Cuccaro 
      Seven Fish Family Dinner Favorite 
      Dec 10, 201
      My family had a seven fish family dinner here yesterday, it was absolutely delicious. I HIGHLY recommend this place, the best italian I have had in a very long time. Will definitely be coming back. Also the fact that it is a family business makes you feel like you are at home. Increbibly nice people

      11/3/2012
      ONLINE REVIEW

      My husband and I tried this restaurant for the first time last week and we're only sorry we didn't go sooner.  The food is exceptional. We are both Italian and this is truly good italian food.  The family who owns it are very much a part of the cooking and service. They couldn't be nicer. Can't wait to go back.


    June 29, 2012
    GLUTEN FREE PASTA!  DELICIOUS!
    I was surprised to find a Gluten Free pasta in a local restaurant.  Very hard to find!  The PASTA was Delicious and quality was TOP notch!!  We had the Gluten Free Penne and Spaghetti with Marinara sauce!  The grilled fish or chicken and vegetables is also a great option!  Buon Cibo is very accomodating with our gluten free dishes!  Definitely recommend HIGHLY!!  
     
    June 21, 2012

    Really likes it

    Viva Abruzzo!
    by Abruzzi
    The family that runs the restaurant is fantastic. They made us feel like we were eating at home with them. I ordered the Scallop and Lump Jumbo Crab Cake combo platter and it was cooked and seasoned to perfection. Everybody at our table ate every last bite of thier food. The warmed Sfogliatelle was outta this world! I can't say enought about this wonderful little restaurant in Plum. I'll be there again soon.

     

    June 15, 2012
    Authentic Italian
    by Panfilo
    Part of my heritage is Italian American so I've been exposed to Italian food from my immigrant Italian grandparents to Italian food that is part of the American Italian restaurant scene. During the past few years, I have been traveling in Italy and have been experiencing the Italian version of Italian food ........ And based on that experience, I have to tell you that Buon Cibo Grill is simply the freshest, best tasting, most authentic Italian food in the Pittsburgh area. Did I mention authentic? Whn in Italy, many urban restaurants tend to Americanize their food. The best Italian food in Italy is generally found off the beaten path. Buon Cibo Grill, which is located at the edge of Boyce Park is off the beaten path from the Pittsburgh Italain restaurant scene but does not take a second place position to any of those restaurants or for that matter, off the beaten path restaurants in Italy.

     

    June 15, 2012
    Best Italian food
    by Cindy
    my experience at Buon Cibo was fantastic. Referred by a friend I knew it would be good but together with the beautiful family owners that greet and attend to you and the fabulous food it was a most pleasant dining experience. The salad was crisp and the balsamic dressing was the best. My chicken Marsala was very good as well. The side of homemade pasta was el dente perfect. Angela's homemade tiramisu was incredible. Ok seriously this is the best Italian food in the east of Pittsburgh. Oh and the icing on the cake...BYOB. Love this place and family.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          June 12, 2012
    Best kept secret In Plum!
    by Kin (1 review)


    • The cooking is as close to Italy as you can get in the area! I have brought family out from south hills and they love it as well and don't mind the drive(even during the week fighting rush hour!) The family is warm and inviting! You feel like you are at a home instead of a restaurant!
       
       


    • June 12, 2012 
      A little piece of Italy in Pittsburgh....
      by JnC (1 review)
      From the pasta, to the dessert, limoncello, and family - I have always had a wonderful experience here. With the many, many, MANY Italian restaurants in Pittsburgh, this is the only one that has food the makes me feel as though I'm back in Italy. The red sauce is deliciously simple - something that is not easy to find.
       
      With the relaxed and inviting atmosphere you will not feel as though you are in a restaurant - but in someone else's home.
       
      The family goes out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your meal and spends the time to talk and get to know you!
       
      If you are looking for a little piece of Italia in Pittsburgh Buon Cibo is definitely worth a visit!




    • June 10, 2012
      by Lenny (1 review)
      First visit. The friendliness of the owners, and the quality of the food were exceptional. Allow about an hour and a half for dinner as everything is cooked to order. I will be back. 



    April 26, 2012
    Absolutely Fantastic
    by vicki (1 review)
    Buon Cibo has to be the best kept secret in Plum, I was greeted by the owners son when I arrived and I ultimately felt like I was sitting in my Grandparents dining room. The food was authentic Italian, Greens and beans , penne with meatballs and a crab cake with lump meat crab- Was wonderful , I can't wait to go back and try the wedding soup and the rest of the menu. Oh I forgot to mention the home made bread, unreal.



                                                                                                                                          
    April 5, 2012
    Fantastic

    by hoolies (1 review)
    We had the opportunity to have dinner at Buon Cibo with a large group of friends. The restaurant is small but with a reservation they happily accommodated us. The food was over the top fantastic! The atmosphere was like sitting in the Italian kitchen of close family. Located in a small shopping plaza, this is most certainly a "best kept secret" restaurant.
     
    April 1, 2012
    Best Italian food
    by vickieslp 

    Best Italian food I have ever had! Delicious, great service and a nice environment. Definately would recommend this restaurant to everyone.



    • January 31, 2012

      by allen ladie
      This is the only italian restaurant that cooks real Italian food: Best sauce , -best veal -scalopps - crab cakes and final dessert : home made tiramisu'- sfogliatelle and cannoli .


    January 19, 2012
    MikeM
    by EKIM76

    I am Italian and grew up on amazing Italian cooking so I am very picky with Italian food. I can honestly say finally a GREAT Italianrestaurant in Plum/Monroeville/Penn Hills area!!! The food here is amazing and comes highly recommended. The only restaurant in the area that serves cavatelli and EXCELLENT SAUCE. THANK YOU!
     
    For those of you who do not know what a cavatelli is go and try them immediately. We went with a party of 6 and everyone was equally impressed. Pizza was great, chicken excellent, the only chicken picatta I have ever liked, and crab cakes amazing (as good as if not better than Monteray). This deserves no less than 5 stars! Go get some great Italian cooking.

    FOOD CRITIC 8:38 pm on Sunday, October 30, 2011
    *****

    Excellent Authentic Italian food in a small, quaint, atmosophere! We have been back weekly. Have not had food this good since we were in Italy! Such exceptional service each and everytime. There is not one speck of food left on any plate... everyone cleans up! You have to try this fine Italian Restaurant if you have not already! Reservations are highly recommended.

    December 4, 2011
    Wonderful!

    by lolhi (1 review)
    The wedding soup is delicious, along with the crab cakes which were full with meat. The gnocci was perfect, light and fluffy. Very friendly staff and good service.

    November 1, 2011
    FABULOUS

    by testafam (1 review)
    We decided to dine here on a whim. No one we knew had eaten here yet. We made a reservation for the 6 of us, as the place is very small. We were very pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by the owner and one of his sons, who promptly opened our bottles of wine (BYOB). We had zucchini, greens and beans and stuffed hot peppers. Love the zucchini spears. Greens and beans are great if you like it more like soup. The peppers were hot and the meat stuffing was with sweet sausage. All were very good. The Homemade pasta was out of this world. I tried the cavatelli with bolonese and the penne with vodka sauce. We also had Chicken parm, veal parm and veal piccata. Veal was great. The portions are on the smaller side, so have an appetizer and dessert. The owner and his wife sent us over some sausage to try while dinner was being cooked. They also made us freshly baked (while we were there) Sfogliatelle and had us try the cannoli and tiramisu.
     
    The owners were like going to my grandma's for Sunday dinner! We talked to them at length and made reservations again for the following Friday. Can't wait!

    October 29, 2011

    by happindad3000 (1 review)

    We recently took our daughter and her husband out for her birthday at Buon Cibo. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and their entire working staff as if we were their family. The food was delicious. The crab cakes were as good as a well known seafood restaurant in the area and reasonably priced. They were willing to bake them instead of having them fried. The chicken dishes and veal dish was tender with great flavor and the pasta cooked to prefection. For dessert we had homemade tiramisu which was light and flavorful and homemade sfogliatelle which was like tasting a taste of heaven. It was wonderful. We will definitely be returing to Buon Cibo in the future.

    October 5, 2011
     
    by John Randazzo (1 review)
    I found Buon Cibo to be a new and exciting place to eat.  The owners are directly from Italy and are giving their food as it is cooked in Italy, so in essence your eating Italian without going to Italy. I found the service to be excellent and caring. I certainly will go back there again with my family.

     September 25, 2011
     REAL Italian food!
    by Avvocatessa 


    • This small restaurant has been open for about two months. Located in a small strip mall in Plum, it is owned and operated by an Italian-American family, a husband and wife from Italy and their two adult sons. The food is just like you would be served in their native Abruzzo region. Everything is authentic and natural. The pasta is all fresh and homemade, from the spaghetti and gnocchi to the lasagna. The bread is baked fresh daily on site. Even the desserts are homemade! Try the tiramisu - delicious and surprisingly light.


    • September 12, 2011

      Delicious!

      by teya200 (1 review)
      My family and I went here for a night out and they were very accommodating. The place is small and quaint. The food was delicious. Everything has that homemade Italian taste! I would definitely recommend this place. It would be a great place for an intimate date as well.

       

      September 4, 2011
      Delicious!
      by CB (1 review)

      I had the scallops. They were large, succulent and cooked perfectly. My husband had the chicken piccata and it was lightly buttered with a tastefully subtle lemon flavor. Crab Cake appetizer was full of fresh crab meat.


    •  


We Are Now Serving Farm to Table Produce! BUON CIBO Means "Good Food" in Italian (Pronounced: "bwon.chee.bow")

4556 William Penn Highway (Route 22- Village of Murrysville)
Murrysville, PA 15668 724-327-0012

 

Sunday, Monday: Closed

TuesdayThursday: 5pm9:30pm

Friday, Saturday: 5pm10pm

  • VISA
  • MasterCard
  • American Express
  • Discover